Brisbane Buyers Agent Reviews and Recommendations

Our testimonials page is an opportunity for our past clients to share their experiences with others by posting their reviews of our Brisbane Buyers Agent, Matt Reeves and recommending the services that Your Property Hound offers.

We have assisted many investors and home buyers to purchase residential property in Brisbane and regional Queensland.  This includes people living locally, interstate and over seas.  We receive no commissions or payments from agents, developers, builders or other trades allowing us to provide independent advice tailored to our clients needs.

Below are some reviews of our buyer’s agent services.  Some reviews have also been posted on our Facebook page.

Thanks to Matt, my family and I will soon move into our fantastic home in Ashgrove. Matt's analysis and deep knowledge of the Brisbane property market helped us narrow in on the perfect house. Matt's nuanced negotiation skills ensured we secured the property for the right price. Furthermore, Matt's recommendations for conveyancing and rental agent were both excellent. Finally, Matt remained engaged right up to settlement. He helped us work through a tricky legal situation with the vendors, even providing advice on a Sunday afternoon. Thanks, Matt.
Brett Nelson
Melbourne, Vic / September 2018
Buying our first investment property ran incredibly smoothly with YPH. Joanna's calm and detailed approach to purchasing an investment property gave us the confidence needed to move decisively when the right property came on the market. Joanna helped with many, many queries and kept my wife and I informed of each step along the way. A week after settlement we have a tenant and coudn't be happier.
Daniel Wright
Brisbane, Qld / September 2018
Using his expert market knowledge and connections, Matt found us a wonderful OFF-MARKET property in our dream suburb in the heart of inner North Brisbane! We would never have found our house if it wasn't for Matt and couldn't have asked for a better outcome. Having recently moved from overseas and with young kids we struggled to get out there and do the leg work we wanted to do. Matt's inspection videos and info packs were a big help in making us feel like we were giving the process due diligence. We wanted someone to help us who knew local market inside out and Matt and Joanna were an amazing help to us throughout this process. Both were professional, diligent, courteous and consultative at all times. We would highly recommend YPH.
Paul Winnister
Brisbane, QLD / August 2018
I approached Matt from Your Property Hound to help me find an investment property in Brisbane. Although I gave him parameters that were really difficult to meet, he was patient and conducted his search according to my instructions. There was only a slim window of possible options that would meet my criteria. Yet Matt and Joanna did come up with a few suitable properties in just a couple of weeks. Matt is totally focused, unemotional and is highly knowledgeable about the market conditions, location pros and cons, and the value of the properties he inspects. He is also a champion when it comes to negotiations. His help has saved much more than his fees and his analytical approach ensures you will not pay too much for a property. Joanna has been amazingly efficient and supportive in the process leading to settlement. She is always available, very generous of her time and happy to provide advice on any question I had. I could not recommend enough their services to anyone looking at making a sound investment, be it your own home or investment property.
Anne Murith
Brisbane, QLD / August 2018
If you’re bidding at auction you want Matt Reeves in your corner. Lacking experience and confidence to bid ourselves we sought Matt’s expertise, hoping to secure our mid-century dream home at Auction. Matt was cool and calm when we were a bundle of nerves. Throughout the bidding Matt’s focus was sharp, strategy and judgement precise, and temperament unflappable. We will never forget the moment the hammer came down, SOLD to paddle number 7! Thank you, Matt.
Michelle and James Bailey
Brisbane, QLD / July 2018
I used Matt and Joanna recently to purchase a great stand-alone 3 bedroom 2 bathroom home in the northern suburbs of Brisbane. The experience was very smooth and I was kept in the loop of all developments during the process. I am based in Sydney and it felt like utilising a buyers agent was the right option based on my circumstances - choosing the right Buyers agent is then key. After speaking to Matt initially on the phone it felt like I was going to be in safe hands and then made the sound decision to hire Matt and his team. The whole process from start to finish was very professional and when we zoned in on the final property using Matt''s strategy was vital in securing it after the necessary due diligence. His knowledge of the Brisbane market is excellent and so I would highly recommend engaging Matt and Joanna of YPH if you want to purchase an investment property in Brisbane; especially if you are from out of town. It is well worth the investment in his services.
Ciaran Allen
Sydney, NSW / July 2018
Matt recently helped me find my dream home in Kelvin Grove. I'd been searching for 3 months on my own and was about to give up hope. I run my own business from home and I have animals, so I had quite a lot of 'must-haves' on my list, but he found me my perfect house. He did all the hard work, leaving me to concentrate on my business and studies. He also did all the bidding at auction - that alone was worth it's weight in gold! He has the technique, skill and he got me a great house at a great price. I highly recommend Your Property Hound.
Sarah Tuckett
Brisbane, QLD / July 2018
Living in Melbourne we had no idea about the Queensland property market as we looked to expand our investments. Joanna at YPH worked tirelessly to find us a suitable property and helped with advice with respect to 3rd party companies (conveyancing, property management, etc) to work with. She arranged all of the property inspections and worked closely with us and the other companies to see things through to the end. All we really had to do was say yes! Thanks so much Joanna, we really appreciated your professionalism and advice.
Sam & Kylie Ludbrook
Melbourne, Vic / July 2018
As time-poor first home buyers, we wanted an agent to help us with the process of finding the perfect house and negotiating the contract. Matt and Joanna made the process so easy for us - and helped us get into a beautiful new home much faster than we would have been able to by ourselves. We would highly recommend their service to anyone looking for a property in Brisbane.
Jon & Becca Scott
Brisbane, QLD / July 2018
We were looking to purchase a home that we really loved and contacted YPH to assist us with contract negotiations. We met Matt and explained our situation and that we were seeking someone to lead the contract negotiation process and advise us on what the property was realistically worth. This took a lot of the emotion and stress away. Matt was able to conduct an appraisal of the property after a detailed and thorough inspection indicating what similar properties had sold for and where the property we were seeking was superior or inferior. This really assisted with providing confidence as the negotiations progressed. Matt was with us through the entire sales process right up until settlement and key collection. Matt went above and beyond to ensure we were on top of every minor detail during the process and stepped in where needed. Buying a home is challenging and engaging Matt was the best course of action for us and we were nothing short of delighted with all of the hard work and professionalism Matt consistently demonstrated. We were also selling our house during this process and we engaged Matt to conduct a review of our property to give us another perspective on what the likely value was. This assisted us greatly during our own sale process and again, gave us the confidence we needed. Matt is warm, engaging and provides outstanding service. Quite often there would be a requirement to take calls out of hours and Matt was always available and responsive in follow-up. I fully recommend Matt and Your Property Hound!
Kris Tully
Brisbane, QLD / April 2018
I recently bought an investment property in Brisbane with the assistance of Matt and Joanna. I’m currently based overseas and the prospect of purchasing a place ‘unseen’ was daunting to say the least. Time zone difficulties and finance issues were not a problem for Matt and Joanna and their patience throughout the journey was unquestionable . I was guided by them every step of the way and never pushed or rushed into any choices, I felt like I had a sounding board and support whilst making a very difficult decision. After many inspections, videos, feedback and multiple backflips on my part we achieved a result and I’m very happy in the end. I would not hesitate to recommend the team at Your Property Hound they were awesome, thank you!!
Marcus Bay
USA / April 2018
I am based in Sydney and I wanted to purchase a house in my SMSF in Brisbane as I saw an opportunity in that market given the relative value for money when compared to Sydney. I googled Buyers Agent Brisbane and Your Property Hound came up and the name appealed to me along with the reviews. I made contact with Matt and after initial discussions, I made a decision to engage him to assist me in finding a property. I work in the Property Sector so I already had a good understanding of the type of property I wanted and the general location. Matt and I worked closely together to review various properties and after a month or so we found a great property in Ferny Hills. Matt attended an open house the next day and together we formulated a strategy to offer a price that would secure the Property. His Go Pro videos are an excellent way to take you through a virtual tour and his quick response allowed me to be in a strong position to secure that Property. Joanna is also very helpful and assisted in the post-exchange process. YPH demonstrated a very professional and personable approach to the whole process, from property search to settlement. I highly recommend them to any purchaser that cannot be there on the ground. You are in good hands!
Stephen Turner
Sydney, NSW / March 2018
Matt Reeves is the consummate professional. My Wife and I felt completely assured from the moment we first met him. His analysis and access to databases provided detailed and very thorough reports. He went to great lengths to ensure that the two properties we decided to pursue were in fact worthy of purchase. Matt looks and finds the finest of details with properties and their respective areas. We were so impressed with the reports and his communication with us that we asked Matt to bid at auction for our first preference property. Whilst I was a nervous wreck on the inside at the auction, Matt was cool, calm and collected and ultimately secured the property on our behalf post auction during the negotiation phase for a very competitive price. It is without hesitation that I give my strongest recommendation for Matt. He is truly an exceptional buyer's agent and he will absolutely be my first choice for my next property.
Miles & Alicia Irving
Brisbane QLD / February 2018
Matt and Joanna helped us get into our first home. Before we engaged YPH we'd been through the process of sorting through dozens of online ads, going to inspections, attempting to understand what the fair market value for a house was and trying to negotiate with professional agents with little success and a lot of stress and lost opportunities. We decided to go for YPH because they charged a flat fee and were very transparent. One of the best things was that Matt gave us the confidence to go for places we would never have thought (e.g., auctions) and he saved us a couple of grand with his negotiation approach. He prepared an appraisal which ensured we had realistic expectations going in. He advised us throughout the whole processes whilst ensuring that we retained all control and ensured we were separated from some of the stressful negotiating tactics we'd experienced when trying to go it alone. We're now in a beautiful home that I can honestly say we would never have found without Matt and Joanna. I'd definitely recommend.
Matthew Burgess
Brisbane, QLD / January 2018
Working with Matt and Joanna was a great experience, communication during the whole process greatly exceeded especially as I am an interstate buyer. I have dealt with other Buyers Agents in the past that were more trying to sell you the deal at the 11th hour and give you an hour to decide. Matt did not force any decisions to be made and assisted in obtaining available information for me to make the best informed independent decision. Overall a great experience hopefully we will work together again in the future! Thanks Matt and Joanna for all your hard work and assistance.
Adam Mifsud
Sydney, NSW / December 2017
Being an interstate buyer I found the service that Matt provided to be very professional and of great assistance, particularly as my expectations of what I wanted to purchase continued to evolve after the purchase process commenced. I found Matt was invaluable in providing comments during inspections on issues that were not on my check list. Having someone with knowledge of the local market and a local presence simplified the whole process, including much needed assistance at the auction which resulted in a very positive outcome. If required in the future I would certainly not hesitate to reuse My Property Hound for purchasing a property in Brisbane.
Geoff S
Mildura, VIC / December 2017
Matt and his assistant Joanna have been unfailingly helpful and knowledgeable throughout the process of searching for and buying a property in Brisbane. Purchasing in Brisbane while living in Sydney would have been a daunting prospect without their assistance. Matt's patience and good humour despite a changing brief was greatly appreciated.
Nicola Westwood
Sydney, NSW / Nov 2017
Matt's task (helping me and my wife buy our first investment property in an unfamiliar city later in life) was never going to be easy. Firstly, he patiently led us through the process of helping us determine what was important to us. Once we narrowed that down to one or two paths (growth in the “hills” or inner city rent-ability) he calmly presented facts and figures to us of different suburbs and properties without bias and aided by Cash Flows etc. On our one and only visit to Brisbane, he pointed out (factually, without hype) issues with properties we would not have otherwise noticed (not just local knowledge but also from an investment perspective). Once we’d found a property we were interested in (an auction) he arranged pre-auction inspections and (of course) handled the bidding process. Immediately, post auction he negotiated a price below our maximum (while we tried to calmly go about our normal Saturday affairs). He helped us find all the local services we needed to painlessly exchange / settle etc and put us in touch with a shortlist of Property Managers ranging from sole traders to larger national agencies. (The sole trader we chose is also exceptional.) Before, during and after purchasing, whenever we asked a question he gave us the pros and cons of a number of answers (unlike a seller’s agent) and allowed us to process that information before continuing to the next stage (or asking yet another question). We never felt hurried or pressured to make a decision one way or the other. I heartily recommend Matt if you like attention to detail, integrity and a person who patiently listens, understands what you’ve said and thinks about his response before replying. We ultimately made all the decisions but I shudder to think where we’d be now if we’d not had Matt’s guidance (let alone the help with the paperwork etc). 8 months down the track and we are still very happy with our decision to engage YPH.
Sam Calder
Sydney, NSW / October, 2017
Matt and Joanna were fantastic throughout the purchasing process. Being first home buyers we were well out of our depth! Matt helped to explain each stage of the purchase to us and found us a property well above our expectations. I would highly recommend 'Your Property Hound' to anyone looking to find their next (or first) home.
Joel Netherwood
Brisbane, QLD / October, 2017
Matt recently helped us buy an investment property and we were so impressed with the entire process. Matt was honest and transparent and his extensive knowledge of the area was invaluable. He was easy to communicate with and responded quickly to our questions and concerns. Thank you Matt, we were extremely pleased with your service and won't hesitate to recommend Your Property Hound in the future.
Mat Brown
Sydney, NSW / September 2017
As interstate property buyers Matt was invaluable in helping us purchase our new property. Without Matt's assistance I am confident our search would have faltered. Matt showed great patience, integrity, attention to detail and guided us impeccably throughout the whole process of finding and completing on our new property. I would certainly use Your Property Hound again and would highly recommend them.
Ben Pierce
Sydney, NSW / August, 2017
Another satisfied customer! We were impressed with Matt's thoroughness and professionalism, and patience as we zoned in on what we were really looking for in a property. Matt took on the feedback we gave on properties he suggested, applied that to both further suggestions, and to items to focus on when he did inspections. Attention to detail during inspections was also great. The auction and purchase of our property was not straightforward, and Matt was able to apply his experience to both maintaining momentum on the sale, and negotiating with the selling agent. In this alone we think Matt justified his fee. Thanks again Matt and Helen for your great work.
Jon Hargrave
Sydney NSW / July 2017
Your Property Hound, Dear Matt Thank you for your invaluable services. It made the whole process of buying our first investment property very easy and your experience and advice gave us the confidence to go forward. We think the house is the right fit for us. Your reminders every step of the way made sure the process wasn't interrupted by an oversight of any of the parties involved (and there are many). These reminders made it easy to keep the overview. All our questions were answered on your part with endless patience. The whole process wasn't stressful for us because of your experience and detailed work ethic. Thanks a lot!
Diego Matter
Brisbane QLD / July 2017
Matt Reeves made it a smooth process for me to secure an investment property. He provided a great service and offered valuable information so I could make an informed decision.
Jason Hernandez
Sydney NSW / May 2017
Helen and Matt were very professional in assisting me purchase an investment property in QLD. I was sent reports with recommendations about potential properties and constantly updated during the process of purchasing my chosen property.
Sharif El Gafi
Sydney, NSW / May 2017
Without Matt and Helen we would never have this wonderful house (or house at all). We are really satisfied with their service as it was high standard all the time. We highly recommend them for everybody who wants to find a good place to live or invest. We can't say enough to thank you very much!
Krisztina Keyke
Brisbane QLD / April 2017
Matt and his team will without a doubt get you you where you want to be in the property market. It has been a pleasure dealing with Matt throughout the process of purchasing our first home. The service provided was very attentive and thorough, friendly and extremely professional. They made a complicated process of first finding and then purchasing our home much easier and less stressful. Well worth it and thank you Matt for your help. Highly recommend Your Property Hound.
Mia Cusack
Brisbane, QLD / April 2017
Great experience throughout. Easy to handle, professional and very knowledgeable about the Brisbane area. I would definitely go through Matt and his company again, and I have recommended his services to my friends and family looking to buy in Brisbane. Thanks for everything!
Gabor Kazup
Brisbane, QLD / April 2017
Easy to work with and responsive – qualities that everyone hopes for and will get. Thanks Matt for the assistance in purchasing our property during the busy festive period. We will definitely recommend your services and come back to you again when the opportunity arises!
Yoke Wong
Sydney, NSW / March 2017
My wife and I had a great experience buying a property through YPH. Matt and his team provided independent, credible advice and helped us through each step of the journey. This process was done interstate and within a very short space of time. We spoke to Matt in Jan and we settled in March with YPH being able to be our eyes and ears on the ground when we couldn't be physically there. We would highly recommend their services.
Justyn Ang
Sydney, NSW / March 2017
Your Property Hound were fantastic. Matt was so helpful and professional throughout the entire process. We were looking for an investment property in Brisbane and from the initial meeting with Matt we knew we had found the right people to assist us in our search. They allowed us to be as involved as much as we wished. Matt provided multiple properties within our search parameters and invited us to attend every property with him. He explained the positives and negatives about each property and within a couple of week we had found a match. Matt negotiated the purchase for us and was able to secure a 6.5% reduction on the initial sale price, great money in our pocket. Your Property Hound connected us with Building Inspector / Conveyancing / Quantity Surveyor and a Property Manager. Within one week of our settlement we secured a tenant with a long term lease. Everything went perfectly and we thoroughly recommend their service and hope to use them again in the future.
Lee & Tracey Dorling
Brisbane, QLD / February 2017
We engaged Matt's services to buy an investment property in Brisbane in late 2016 and it was the best decision we have made! Being from out of town, we needed this additional experience and local knowledge and I'm pleased to say that not only did we get a great property, we had it rented out very quickly too. Matt was an absolute professional, always staying in touch and communicating every step of the way, as well as giving us great advice that has led to where we are today. We could not have done this without Matt! Thank you so much and we are looking forward to potentially working together again. To anyone looking at using a buyers agent, we could not recommend Matt any more highly.
Maz & Erin Sathimoorthy
Sydney, NSW / January 2017
We sought the services of YPH after entering into negotiations with a seller's agent who was difficult to deal with. I only wish we'd engaged YPH earlier in the purchasing process. It's a sellers market and there are agents that provide very little service or respect to buyers. YPH provided us with a market appraisal that gave us confidence to continue negotiating. We were competing with other interested parties and I have no doubt that without YPH advice and support, we would have missed out on our purchase. YPH strengths are preparing the buyer for the next step and providing insights into what the sellers agent is attempting to achieve. This strength carried through assisting us through the multitude of follow up activities to achieve an unconditional contract and settlement. Again YPH were a step ahead of solicitors, banks and the sellers agent in completing the settlement tasks. Throughout the process, communication from YPH was clear and timely. If you want to reduce the stress of buying a property and buy with confidence, then I recommend attaining the services of YPH.
Matt Stigter
Brisbane, QLD / January, 2017
Buying an investment property in another state was always going to be a challenge for us, not only because of distance, but also due to unique aspects of the Brisbane market. Matt and Tracy were indeed our people on the ground and took the time to understand our requirements and continually refine search criteria. They also brought a wealth of knowledge about property features and issues, strong advice about bidding strategies and accurate appraisals about prospective properties. However, the stand out feature of the service was the attitude - positive and helpful, they were always available to discuss issues and concerns, no task or additional research was too difficult and they displayed a persistence and determination to find us the right property. Further, the service did not end at exchange of contracts and final payment, with follow through including connecting us with appropriate lawyers, property managers & quantity surveyors and inspection and advice at settlement. We could not recommend Your Property Hound more highly!!
John De Vitis
Sydney, NSW / January, 2017
I spent 12 months searching for an investment property in Brisbane, and despite coming very close several times, I was not able to seal the deal. I am based overseas, and my inability to inspect the properties myself and meet with the agents in person exacerbated the difficulties I was facing. I finally bit the bullet and engaged YPH to assist me in purchasing a property. They were recommended to me by a friend, but I still had my doubts as I imagined they would be keen to push a quick sale to secure the balance of their fee. I am happy to say that my doubts were quashed after the first week of inspections. Matt and Tracy were both brutally honest with properties that they inspected on my behalf. They did not sugar coat their feedback, and went out of their way to highlight every aspect, both good and bad, of the properties so that I could make an informed decision on whether to proceed, which was extremely reassuring to me as an overseas buyer. They provided me with video footage of the properties, and professional comparative market analysis documents which were informative and simple to interpret. They found me a property that fit all of my criteria within weeks and quickly determined the minimum price that the vendor would accept, enabling me to secure the property for a great price after being on the market for just 4 days. Their brilliant work continued throughout the settlement period as they assisted with the correspondence between my solicitor and bank, organised building and pest inspections, provided advice on immediate and future renovations, attended the pre-settlement inspection and helped me organise a property manager. If I had not engaged YPH I would still be looking for a property for another 12 months. Their fees are quite reasonable, and when compared to the opportunity cost of being without an investment property for over a year and the low purchase price they were able to secure, the fees are chicken feed. I have already recommended YPH to a few of my friends who are looking to purchase property, and I look forward to being in a position to purchase through YPH again. Thank you Matt and Tracy!
Phillip Hermes
Papua New Guinea / October, 2016
Matt and Tracy from Your Property Hound provide excellent knowledge, friendly, professional service and help through every step of the process of buying a house. They genuinely love property and are passionate in helping you find the perfect investment or dream home. I highly recommend YPH and would definitely use them again! Thanks again.
Julian Gilmer
Gladstone, QLD / June 2016
Moving back to Australia from overseas with a family is a huge undertaking, but buying the family home was made easy (and possible) with the help of Tracy from Your Property Hound. Tracy was absolutely committed to finding the perfect family home for us right from the start. From identifying properties, filming these, negotiating and organizing building, pest and pool inspections right through to settlement and beyond Tracy was by our side as a trusted advisor. She has an enormous wealth of knowledge about the Brisbane property market and was always available, no matter what the time and no matter how many questions we had - and we had many! Tracy is a true professional with absolute dedication to her job. The fee was worth every single dollar and arguably the best investment we made in the entire purchasing process. Highly recommended, 5 stars+
Chris Barner-Kowollik
Germany / June, 2016
My partner and I are first time buyers living in Sydney so decided we definitely needed the help of a Buying Agent when purchasing our first investment property in Brisbane. YPH was professional and informative from start to finish, taking time to understands our situation, motives and expected returns. Matt gave us unbiased and honest feedback throughout, identifying very suitable properties from the outset. The speed with which we secured our property was surprisingly quick (around 3 weeks) and we are very happy with the property we selected. Matt is great to work with. He is clearly passionate about property and investment strategies, but also has a great eye for potential property renovations (for those who are willing to undertake a little more work to get better returns!). At no point does he try to ‘sell’ a prospective property to you, all of his recommendations are based on strong market knowledge and careful analysis. We did not feel rushed or persuaded in this process, just supported and advised throughout. We can’t recommend YPH highly enough. Aside from identifying and securing our property, Matt assisted us in meeting our renovation team to obtain measurements and quotations, offered us lifts from and to the airport when interstate for viewings, negotiated that some of the repairs be done by the previous owners before settlement, advised on basic renovations that might add value and caution when over capitalising… the list goes on. We are tempted to buy our second property in Brisbane just for the peace of mind of knowing we have a buying agent we can trust implicitly working on our behalf. Thank you, Matt! Vicky and Dani
Vicky Stares & Dani Malone
Sydney, NSW / June, 2016
I would highly recommend engaging Matt and YPH if you want to buy an investment property in Brisbane. My partner and I found him to be exceptionally professional, prompt, flexible and responsive. We were new to the Brisbane market and found that Matt guided us through the nuances of the local environment with great detail. Once directed, Matt provided us with an extensive range of options to explore, while providing comprehensive market analysis reports. Matt was incredibly generous with his time and we found his patience and flexibility with meetings - given that we had a new born baby at the time - to be noteworthy. In addition to this, Matt's team was friendly, accessible and highly competent. We experienced some challenges with confirming documentation prior to completion. Matt's colleague, Tracy, was exceptional in resolving this matter. She went above and beyond to ensure YPH delivered a successful outcome. We were really impressed with the level of service they provided.
Andrew Yong & Clare Derrington
Canberra, ACT / May, 2016
Matt was fantastic with finding us a family home in Brisbane. Being from interstate, we were finding it extremely hard finding a property with wasted trips and being unable to attend inspections. Not to mention trying to decipher 'agent speak' with real estate agents! The YPH team alleviated a lot of stress for us. We ended up settling on a property without seeing it in person. Matt’s videos were very detailed and his feedback on the properties and the surrounding area after each inspection were always very thorough. I was also very impressed with the ongoing communication from Matt and Tracy. The team was very patient with my endless questions about the property market and houses we had inspected. Even after settlement the team have been very helpful. I would definitely recommend Matt and the YPH team due to their professionalism and knowledge (they are also nice people!!). Thanks again!
Sarah Lamont
St George's Basin, NSW / April, 2016

If you would like to leave a review of your experiences using our Brisbane Buyers Agent Service please email it to matt@yourpropertyhound.com.au or recommend this page to your friends, family or collegues by clicking on the link below.